Award Framework | Dukeofed

Award Framework

The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections.

Participants complete all four Sections at each level in order to achieve either their Bronze, Silver or Gold Award. At Gold level, Participants also complete a Residential Project.


Three Levels

          Bronze              Silver                Gold




Four Sections for Bronze and Silver, five Sections for Gold (none more important than another):





The Service Section of the Award encourages young people to volunteer their time to and understand the benefits of this service to their community. To connect with your community and give service to others and their communities. Read more


Circles_Physical_RecreationPhysical Recreation

The Physical Recreation Section of the Award encourages young people to participate in sport and other physical recreation for the improvement of health, wellbeing and fitness.  Read more



The Skills Section of the Award encourages the development of personal interests and practical and social skills.  Read more


 Circles_Adventurous_JourneyAdventurous Journey

The Adventurous Journey Section encourages a sense of adventure whilst undertaking a team journey or expedition. As part of a small team, participants will plan, train for and undertake a journey with a defined purpose in an unfamiliar environment. Read more


Residential Project (Gold only)

The Residential Project, completed only at Gold level, aims to broaden Participants’ horizons through involvement with others in a residential setting. Read More


* A Major Section must be chosen for each Award level where a Participant hasn’t completed a previous Award level. This includes all Bronze Participants, all Silver Participants who have not completed their Bronze Award and all Gold Award Participants who have not completed their Silver Award. The Major Section is undertaken for an additional length of time. A Participant can choose their Major Section from Physical Recreation, Skill or Service. The time taken varies dependent on the Award level.


next> The Award Philosophy